Is Collagen Halal?
Posted by MATILDA JONES
What type of Collagen is Halal?
This is a question that we are often asked. Our answer is always the same. Not all collagen products are halal. Please read the source of collagen on product labels. The key question is: where does this collagen come from?
Quality collagen from reputable companies will clearly state the animal source. This means that the product labels show whether the collagen is sourced from cattle, pigs, chicken or fish.
NYME Collagen is marine collagen and is sourced from fish (fish skin). NYME Collagen is therefore halal.
Collagen is a protein and is sourced from animal skins and animal bones. This explains why collagen is not suitable for vegetarians or vegans.
Bovine collagen is sourced from cows. Porcine collagen is sourced from pigs.
Marine collagen is sourced from fish. Collagen can also be sourced from chicken and eggshells.
Bovine collagen from cows can be halal. However, it depends on the slaughtering method and whether this is in line with the Islamic faith.
"Marine COLLAGEN (sourced from fish) is HALAL"
There are 28 different types of collagen. Marine collagen, sourced from fish, is the most absorbable type of collagen. The main reason being that it is the smallest molecule. The smaller the collagen molecule, the easier it is for the body to absorb.
Marine collagen contains 95% type 1 collagen.
Collagen type 1 is most suitable for your skin, hair and nails. Several studies have shown that marine collagen will increase skin elasticity and skin hydration.
This will make your skin feel smoother with less visible fine lines and wrinkles.
Store NYME Collagen in the fridge or in a cool cupboard. This is a personal choice and depends whether you like cold or room temperature drinks.
Drink NYME Collagen with or without food. Most people prefer to drink their collagen first thing in the morning.
Subscribe and Save. No contract.
Is Marine Collagen Halal?
Yes, marine collagen is halal. Fish is halal. Marine collagen is the most absorbable type of collagen. Marine collagen is sustainable.
NYME Collagen is contains 100% marine collagen and therefore halal.
Is Bovine Collagen similar to Gelatine?
Gelatine is an animal by-product and is made from the partially hydrolysed collagen tissue of various animal parts. Its halal status depends on the nature of raw materials used in its manufacture. Most gelatine is one of two types: Type A gelatine is exclusively made from pork skins, and is hence Haram for Muslims to use.
Most gelatine products are considered haram, especially if their source is pork or an animal that was not processed according to Islamic law. However, if the gelatine's source is certified halal, then the gelatine itself is halal and can be enjoyed by all. These same guidelines apply to the use of bovine collagen.
Always Check the Collagen Source
If you have any questions about collagen or collagen benefits, please email us:
We can also be reached on our webchat and socials.
And finally, you can call us on 02380 259900. We are available from 08.30 - 17.00 Monday - Friday.
We are here to help!